top of page


Taylor County Historical Commission Organizational History

The Taylor County Historical Commission was founded in the mid-1950s by Mrs. Dallas Scarborough as the Taylor County historical Survey Committee. In the 1970s the group was chaired by Maxine Perini and renamed the Taylor County Historical Commission, sharing the name of the larger statewide body known as the Texas Historical Commission.

The Taylor County Historical Commission has been responsible for a steady stream of historical markers, and during the five years of Mrs. Maxine Perini's chairmanship, from 1967 through 1971, there were 22 historical markers placed in the county. During the years Mrs. Perini was chairperson, she had the invaluable assistance of two prominent Abilene historians. Those historians were Dr. Rupert Richardson, president of Hardin Simmons University and local attorney Robert Wagstaff. During Mrs. Perini's term, the commission was honored twice by the state as an outstanding committee.

Also, through the efforts of Kay Dillard and her husband, Richard Dillard, the Taylor County Commission became the first in the state to set up bylaws. Under these bylaws, the commission began electing its chairpersons. Previously, county commissioners had appointed the chairman.

The commission has other responsibilities as well. It hosts tours and events that focus a spotlight on the county's history, that give the citizens a chance to meet some unusual and interesting historic figures, and exhibit treasures from the past.

About: About Us


Chairman – Jeff Salmon

Vice Chairman - Jory R. Vanderburg

Secretary - Morgan Paschal

Treasurer – Rev. Andrew Penns

Past Chair - Larry Sanders

Markers Chair - Janis C. Test


This award recognizes outstanding service to Taylor County

in the preservation of its history and the promotion of historical events.

The Taylor County Historical Commission has recognized these individuals as

Maxine Perini Award Winners:

1995 - Maxine Perini

1996 - Vernon Williams

1997 - Ann White

1998 - Jim Bucherie

1999 - Jack Holden

2000 - R. Lee Rode

2001 - Anita Lane

2002 - L.D. (Denny) McFarland

2003 - Juanita Zachry

2004 - John C Stowe

2005 - Cherry Gleason

2006 - Karen Turner

2007 - Larry Abrigg

2008 - Jack North

2009 - Rev. Andrew Penns

2010 - Kathy Aldridge

2011 - Jay Moore

2012 - Steve Butman

2013 - Loretta Fulton

2014 - Bill Minter

2015 - Tom Perini

2016 - Janis C. Test

2018 - Larry Sanders

About: What We Do
bottom of page